Welcome to ESA 2011


The European Symposium on Algorithms (ESA) is one of the premier conferences on algorithms. The symposium covers research in all aspects of the design, analysis, and application of algorithms and data structures.

ESA 2011 has two tracks: the Design and Analysis Track and the Engineering and Applications Track. Read more.

ESA 2011 is organized in collaboration with the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS) and is a part of ALGO 2011. ESA 2011 will be co-located with IPEC, WABI, ATMOS, WAOA, ALGOSENSORS.

For all organizatorial information, please refer to the website of ALGO 2011.


  • April 19: Submission deadline closed.
  • June 17: Notifications sent. See the list of accepted papers.

Invited Speakers

Invited talks will be given by Berthold Vöcking (RWTH Aachen University) and Lars Arge (University of Aarhus and MADALGO).


The symposium seeks original algorithmic contributions for problems with relevant theoretical and/or practical applications: papers with a strong emphasis on the theoretical analysis of algorithms should be submitted to Track A, while papers reporting on the results of extensive experimental evaluations and/or providing original contributions to the engineering of algorithms for practical applications should be submitted to Track B.


Papers presenting original research in all areas of algorithmic research are sought, including but not limited to:

  • Algorithmic aspects of networks
  • Algorithmic game theory
  • Approximation algorithms
  • Combinatorial optimization
  • Computational biology
  • Computational finance
  • Distributed algorithms
  • Computational geometry
  • Data compression
  • Data structures
  • Databases and information retrieval
  • Graph algorithms
  • Hierarchical memories
  • Machine learning
  • Mathematical programming
  • Mobile computing
  • On-line algorithms
  • Parallel algorithms
  • Parametrized complexity
  • Pattern matching
  • Quantum computing
  • Randomized algorithms
  • Streaming algorithms.


There will be a Best Student Paper Award, as well as a Best Paper Award. The ESA proceedings will be published in the Lecture Notes in Computer Science series by Springer-Verlag.

Important Dates

  • Submission deadline: Tuesday, April 19, 2011, anywhere on earth (AOE).
  • Notification: Friday, June 17, 2011.
  • Final version due: Friday, July 9, 2011.
  • Symposium: September 5-7, 2011 (Saarbrücken, Germany).

Design and Analysis Committee

  • Magnús M. Halldórsson (chair), Reykjavik University
  • Therese Biedl, University of Waterloo
  • Philip Bille, Technical University of Denmar
  • Allan Borodin, University of Toronto
  • Amr Elmasry, University of Copenhagen
  • Sándor Fekete, TU Braunschweig
  • Martin Fürer, Penn State University
  • Cyril Gavoille, University of Bordeaux
  • Fabrizio Grandoni, University of Rome Tor Vergata
  • Tao Jiang, UC Riverside
  • Dieter Kratsch, University Paul Verlaine - Metz
  • James R. Lee, University of Washington
  • Daniel Lokshtanov, UC San Diego
  • Pradipta Mitra, Reykjavik University
  • Yoshio Okamoto, JAIST
  • Guido Schäfer, CWI & VU University Amsterdam
  • Danny Segev, University of Haifa
  • Hadas Shachnai, Technion
  • Cliff Stein, Columbia University
  • Ileana Streinu, Smith College
  • Takeshi Tokuyama, Tohoku University

Engineering and Applications Committee

  • Camil Demetrescu (chair), Sapienza University of Rome
  • Umut Acar, Max Planck Institute for Software Systems
  • Michael Bender, SUNY Stony Brook
  • Alberto Caprara, University of Bologna
  • Carlos Castillo, Yahoo! Research Barcelona
  • Graham Cormode, AT&T Labs--Research
  • Daniel Delling, Microsoft Research--Silicon Valley
  • Thomas Erlebach, University of Leicester
  • Rudolf Fleischer, Fudan University
  • Monika Henzinger, University of Vienna
  • Michael Jünger, University of Cologne
  • Ian Munro, University of Waterloo
  • Sotiris Nikoletseas, University of Patras and CTI
  • Rasmus Pagh, IT University of Copenhagen
  • Bettina Speckmann, TU Eindhoven